C.G. Hänsch

In 1832, damask weaver Christian Gottlieb Hänsch founded a weaving mill. Since he died early, his wife and, from 1857, his son Carl Gottlieb took over the company. He studied in Dresden, among others, with Michael Wenzel and Gotthelf Krumbholz. Exports went very well. In 1880 the company received a silver medal at a textile exhibition in Melbourne. The first factory building was built in 1888. Before that, people worked in the stone mill. Karl Gottlieb Hänsch (third generation) was also very involved in his hometown. Among other things, he supported the construction of the children's home. A separate twisting shop was added. The company also had its own fire department. Of course, it was also used outside of the company. In 1935 the power pump was used in the Seifhennersdorf church fire. Production stopped in 1942. In the 1960s there was only twisting. In 1972, Christian Hänsch (5th generation) was forced to transfer the business to public ownership. VEB Frottana initially took over until the operation finally came to an end with the end of the GDR.

Quelle: https://www.grussschiene.de/


company history


1832

Christian Gottlieb Hänsch founded the company C.G. as a master hand weaver. Hans. He was only able to manage the company for 18 years and died at the age of 49. The widow continued to run the business.

1857

Carl Gottlieb Hänsch, son of Christian Hänsch, takes over the company C.G. Hänsch on his own account. Carl Gottlieb Hänsch was a trained pattern draftsman. The training took place at the arts and crafts school in Dresden. There he was, among other things, a student of Prof. Krumholz.

1861

The company moves to Am Hofe 6. This was a residential and commercial building.

1870

Production is expanding. Half linen and linen tableware, napkins are produced.

1880

On the occasion of an exhibition in Melbourne, the company C.G. Hänsch a silver medal. The export business is starting.

1882

The sons Karl Gottlieb and Ernst Hänsch start working in the company, and the export business is expanded. Terry products are included in the program.

1888

The first factory building is built on its own land. Carl Gottlieb Hänsch leaves the business to his sons and devotes himself to his favorite activity, pattern drawing.

1889

Carl Gottlieb Hänsch dies. Karl and Erwin Hänsch take over the business on their own account.

1892

The factory building turns out to be too small. A new building is being built on the main street. It houses choir rooms, storage rooms and expedition rooms.

Mechanical production is becoming more and more important. Damask production is declining; it cannot be produced on mechanical looms.

Tablecloths, mouth towels, bath fabrics, hand towels, bath towels, washcloths and bibs are now produced.

1896

A further factory extension is necessary.

1900

Further cultivation takes place.

1903

Ernst Hänsch dies at the age of 42. He leaves behind a foundation for sick and needy employees.

Karl Gottlieb Hänsch takes over the company on his own account. There are 450 employees.

1906

Another factory building constructed.

1911

The commercial building is being expanded.

1912

A type of fabric is patented and protected.

Mechanical weaving is expanding more and more. The visible symbol is the half gear. It is patented and becomes a symbol of quality.

1914

First World War. Production is partially stopped. The ministry orders the production of tent fabrics. Towards the end of the war, paper fabrics are woven.

1919

The sons Karl Martin and Karl Walter join the business.

1925 

Karl Gottlieb Hänsch dies at the age of 68. The sons continue the company.

1932

100 years of existence of the company C.G. Hans.

1939

The Second World War breaks out. Workers and employees are drafted into the military or labor service.

1942

The German inflatable boat factory Hans Scheiberl armaments company is being relocated from Berlin to existing premises. Raft bags for the military are sewn.

1946

Linen yarns are no longer available. Shirt fabrics are produced. Production gradually started again. Shipments were mainly made to the Soviet Union for reparations.

The former armaments factory immediately became a VEB, state-owned company.

1948

The company C.G. 60% of Hänsch is expropriated and the inheritance is destroyed.

Bathrobes, bath towels and wash gloves continue to be produced.

1958

The company C.G. Hänsch has to take out government bonds. The winnings are taxed 90%.

1970

Terry production is discontinued.

1972

The one from the company C.G. Hans. The company is expropriated. A state-owned company is created. The company is affiliated with VEB Frotana Großschönau.

1990

A new beginning for C.G. Hänsch is no longer possible.